Equine Sports Medicine

The People Serving You

Erin Contino

Instructor - Equine Sports Medicine

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-4507

Email: erin.contino@colostate.edu

Jodie Daglish

Post Doctoral

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-4165

Email: jodie.daglish@colostate.edu

Katie Ellis

Post Doctoral

Contact Information

Email: katie.ellis@colostate.edu

David Frisbie

Faculty

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-4555

Email: david.frisbie@colostate.edu

Biography

After arriving at CSU, Dr. Frisbie began his work on a novel way to treat joint disease using gene therapy, the focus of his Ph.D. Dr. Frisbie is board certified in Large Animal Surgery and is a Diplomate of the ACVS. He joined the faculty as an assistant professor in Equine Surgery in the Dept. of Clinical Sciences in 1999, associate professor (with tenure) in 2007, and professor in 2013. He is a Diplomate of the ACVSMR and a Founding Fellow of ACVS Minimally Invasive Surgery (large animal orthopaedics). Dr. Frisbie has served on the American Association of Equine Practitioners Board of Directors as well as held the position of Secretary on the Board of Directors for the ACSMR. His current areas of research include musculoskeletal diagnosis and treatment. He has evaluated various therapeutics and biologics such as stem cells. As well as looking at novel platforms for diagnosing musculoskeletal disease has developed diagnostic tools such as standing arthroscopy of the equine stifle.

Kevin Haussler

Faculty

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-1262

Office: 970-297-1262

Email: kevin.haussler@colostate.edu

Biography

Clinical Interests: Sports medicine, Spinal and pelvic-related disorders, Acupuncture, chiropractic and physical therapy. Research Interests: Diagnosis and management of back problems in equine athletes, Biomechanics of the musculoskeletal system, Objective assessment of musculoskeletal dysfunction, Acupuncture, chiropractic and physical therapy.

Sherry Johnson

Post Doctoral

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-4165

Email: sherry.johnson@colostate.edu

Christopher Kawcak

Faculty

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-4139

Email: christopher.kawcak@colostate.edu

Biography

Dr. Kawcak is Professor of Orthopedics. Dr. Kawcak is one of a team of researchers working to find ways to prevent and treat catastrophic injuries in equine athletes. Kawcak is assessing three-dimensional imaging techniques, MRI and CT to diagnose early joint disease and microscopic joint injuries before these develop into serious injuries. Working with researchers in biomedical engineering the team has developed biomechanical models to assess risk factors specific to each individual athlete with implications for human bone and joint disease.

Melissa King

Assistant Professor; Gait and Equine Sports Medicine

Contact Information

Office: 970-556-3931

Office: 970-297-4165

Email: melissa.king@colostate.edu

Lindsey Laverentz

Administrative Assistant

Contact Information

Office: 970-556-3931

Email: lindsey.mccormick@colostate.edu

Britt Mactavish

Administrative Professional

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-5311

Email: britt.mactavish@colostate.edu

Colton McInturff

Post Doctoral

Contact Information

Email: colton.mcinturff@colostate.edu

Meredith Park

State Classified

Contact Information

Email: meredith.park@colostate.edu

Katie Seabaugh

Faculty

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-4584

Office: 970-297-5000

Email: katie.seabaugh@colostate.edu

Melinda Story

Administrative Professional

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-4196

Email: melinda.story@colostate.edu

Gustavo Zanotto

Post Doctoral

Contact Information

Email: gustavo.zanotto@colostate.edu