Equine Medicine and Surgery

The People Serving You

Kimberlee Alexander

State Classified

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-4532

Email: kimberlee.alexander@colostate.edu

Rosemary Bayless

Post Doctoral

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-4282

Email: rosemary.bayless@colostate.edu

Celeste Cannon

State Classified Hourly

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-4472

Email: celeste.cannon@colostate.edu

Kathryn Casper

State Classified

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-4117

Email: kathryn.casper@colostate.edu

Cheyenne Davenport

Temporary (non-student) Hourly

Contact Information

Email: cheyenne.davenport@colostate.edu

IAN Devick

Post Doctoral

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-4206

Email: ian.devick@colostate.edu

Kimberly Ellis

State Classified

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-5013

Office: 970-297-4471

Email: kimberly.ellis@colostate.edu

Stevi Glascott

State Classified

Contact Information

Office: 297-5000

Email: stevi.burns@colostate.edu

Laurie Goodrich

Faculty

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-0376

Email: laurie.goodrich@colostate.edu

Biography

Dr. Goodrich is an Associate Professor of Orthopedics in the Department of Clinical Sciences. Her laboratory studies new approaches to bone and joint healing in equine athletes, and employs both gene therapy and stem cell therapy. Ongoing studies include using adeno-associated viral vectors to deliver growth factors and anti-inflammatory molecules important in cartilage and bone healing. Dr. Goodrich has utilized mesenchymal stem cells and platelet rich plasma to improve cartilage repair. Further studies utilizing gene therapy combined with stem cell therapies to improve musculoskeletal repair are currently underway.

Eileen Hackett

Faculty

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-4035

Email: eileen.hackett@colostate.edu

Biography

Dr. Eileen Hackett attended University of Illinois College of Veterinary Medicine graduating in 1998. After an internship at Rood and Riddle Equine Hospital, she completed a residency in Large Animal Surgery at the University of Pennsylvania, New Bolton Center. Dr. Hackett joined the CSU Equine Surgery and Critical Care Service and is board certified by the American College of Veterinary Surgery and the American College of Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care Medicine. Dr. Hackett serves on the ACVS Resident Credentialing Committee and the ACVECC Research Committee, and is an Associate Editor of Veterinary Surgery. She is a Principal Investigator in the CSU Preclinical Surgical Research Laboratory working with large animal surgical models for rotator cuff repair, vaginal prolapse, and urinary stress incontinence. Dr. Hackett is part of the team at CSU providing specialty boarded critical and emergency care to all large animals 24-hours a day.

Diana Hassel

Faculty

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-4271

Email: diana.hassel@colostate.edu

Biography

Dr. Hassel is an Associate Professor of Equine Emergency Surgery & Critical Care and helped establish the 24/7 Equine Critical Care service at CSU in 2004. She has been a specialist in the area of equine colic since completion of her surgical residency in 1997 and has furthered her background in critical care medicine for the horse by obtaining board certification by the American College of Veterinary Emergency & Critical Care in 2007. Her research interests are focused on treatment of the critically ill equine patient, with particular interests in colic, the equine gastrointestinal microbiome and endotoxemia.

Dean Hendrickson

Professor

Contact Information

Office: 297-5000

Email: dean.hendrickson@colostate.edu

Biography

Clinical Interests: Equine Endoscopic Surgery including Laparoscopy, Arthroscopy and Flexible Endoscopy, Wound healing, Lameness. Research Interests: Laparoscopic Surgical Approaches, Wound Healing, Pain Relief, Teaching Methods.

Christopher Kawcak

Faculty

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-4139

Email: christopher.kawcak@colostate.edu

Biography

Dr. Kawcak is Professor of Orthopedics. Dr. Kawcak is one of a team of researchers working to find ways to prevent and treat catastrophic injuries in equine athletes. Kawcak is assessing three-dimensional imaging techniques, MRI and CT to diagnose early joint disease and microscopic joint injuries before these develop into serious injuries. Working with researchers in biomedical engineering the team has developed biomechanical models to assess risk factors specific to each individual athlete with implications for human bone and joint disease.

Theresa Kelly

State Classified

Contact Information

Email: theresa.kelly@colostate.edu

Tiffany Knight

State Classified Hourly

Contact Information

Email: tiffany.knight@rams.colostate.edu

Drew Koch

Post Doctoral

Contact Information

Email: drew.koch@colostate.edu

Gabriele Landolt

Faculty

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-4146

Email: gabriele.landolt@colostate.edu

Biography

Dr. Landolt is an Assistant Professor of Equine Medicine. Dr. Landolt's research focuses on infectious respiratory pathogens and pulmonary damage resulting from infectious disease. Specifically her laboratory has ongoing projects in development of a tissue culture system that models pulmonary vasculature, and is evaluating host adaptation to new strains of influenza and cross-species transmission events. Her laboratory also provides surveillance for influenza in wild animals that might serve as reservoirs or vectors for influenza exposure to humans and other species.

Shauna Lawless

Post Doctoral

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-5224

Email: shauna.lawless@colostate.edu

Britt Mactavish

Administrative Professional

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-5311

Email: britt.mactavish@colostate.edu

Valerie Moorman

Assistant Professor, Gait Analysis Center Director

Contact Information

Office: 970-631-3059

Office: 970-297-5046

Email: valerie.moorman@colostate.edu

Yvette Nout-Lomas

Assistant Professor--Equine Medicine

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-4173

Email: yvette.nout-lomas@colostate.edu

Biography

Dr. Yvette Nout-Lomas is an Assistant Professor of Equine Internal Medicine and is boarded by both the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine and the American College of Veterinary Emergency and Critical Medicine. Her clinical interests include horses with neurologic disorders and critically ill foals and adult horses. Dr. Nout-Lomas is part of the team at CSU providing specialty care to horses. Her research goal is to improve diagnostic capabilities and treatment options for horses with neurologic disease. In particular her research is focused on gait assessment in horses, spinal cord injury, and comparative neuroscience.

Kristina Perry

State Classified

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-1265

Email: kristina.l.perry@colostate.edu

Lynn Pezzanite

Post Doctoral

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-4296

Email: lynn.pezzanite@colostate.edu

Debra Popichak

State Classified

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-4532

Email: debra.popichak@colostate.edu

Jackie Schneider

State Classified

Contact Information

Office: 970-221-4535

Email: jackie.schneider@colostate.edu

Becca Skirmont

Contact Information

Email: becca.skirmont@colostate.edu

Kit Struthers

State Classified

Contact Information

Office: 970-221-4535

Email: kit.struthers@colostate.edu

Rebecca Urich

State Classified

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-5000

Email: rebecca.urich@colostate.edu

Abigail Velting

Post Doctoral

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-5255

Email: abigail.velting@colostate.edu

Kelly White

State Classified

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-5000

Email: kelly.white@colostate.edu