Equine Medicine and Surgery

The People Serving You

Kimberlee Alexander

State Classified

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-4532

Email: kimberlee.alexander@colostate.edu

Tanya Applegate

Faculty

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-4257

Email: tanya.applegate@colostate.edu

Celeste Cannon

State Classified

Contact Information

Email: celeste.cannon@colostate.edu

Stevi Glascott

State Classified

Contact Information

Office: 297-5000

Email: stevi.burns@colostate.edu

Sonia Gonzalez-Medina

Equine Resident

Contact Information

Email: sonia.gonzalez-medina@colostate.edu

Biography

Dr. González-Medina is an equine medicine resident. She received her DVM in 2007 from Cordoba University in Spain. Following graduation, she completed internships in a private hospital in Spain and Alfort veterinary school, Paris (France). In 2010, she moved to the UK where she worked in private practice for several years and as equine epidemiology clinician at the Animal Health Trust, Newmarket, UK. During this time, she obtained the CertAVP in equine internal medicine by the Royal College of Veterinary surgeons (UK) and a postgraduate degree in veterinary ophthalmology at Barcelona University (Spain). Recently, Dr. González-Medina completed her doctoral studies in Equine atypical myopathy/seasonal pasture myopathy, a toxic rhabdomyolysis associated with the ingestion of plant material from maple trees.

Laurie Goodrich

Faculty

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-0376

Email: laurie.goodrich@colostate.edu

Biography

Dr. Goodrich is a Professor of Orthopedics in the Department of Clinical Sciences. Her laboratory studies new approaches to bone and joint healing in equine athletes, and employs both gene therapy and stem cell therapy. Ongoing studies include using adeno-associated viral vectors to deliver growth factors and anti-inflammatory molecules important in cartilage and bone healing. Dr. Goodrich has utilized mesenchymal stem cells and platelet rich plasma to improve cartilage repair. Further studies utilizing gene therapy combined with stem cell therapies to improve musculoskeletal repair are currently underway.

Eileen Hackett

Faculty

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-4035

Email: eileen.hackett@colostate.edu

Biography

Dr. Eileen Hackett attended University of Illinois College of Veterinary Medicine graduating in 1998. After an internship at Rood and Riddle Equine Hospital, she completed a residency in Large Animal Surgery at the University of Pennsylvania, New Bolton Center. Dr. Hackett joined the CSU Equine Surgery and Critical Care Service and is board certified by the American College of Veterinary Surgery and the American College of Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care Medicine. Dr. Hackett serves on the ACVS Resident Credentialing Committee and the ACVECC Research Committee, and is an Associate Editor of Veterinary Surgery. She is a Principal Investigator in the CSU Preclinical Surgical Research Laboratory working with large animal surgical models for rotator cuff repair, vaginal prolapse, and urinary stress incontinence. Dr. Hackett is part of the team at CSU providing specialty boarded critical and emergency care to all large animals 24-hours a day.

Diana Hassel

Faculty

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-4271

Email: diana.hassel@colostate.edu

Biography

Dr. Hassel is an Associate Professor of Equine Emergency Surgery & Critical Care and helped establish the 24/7 Equine Critical Care service at CSU in 2004. She has been a specialist in the area of equine colic since completion of her surgical residency in 1997 and has furthered her background in critical care medicine for the horse by obtaining board certification by the American College of Veterinary Emergency & Critical Care in 2007. Her research interests are focused on treatment of the critically ill equine patient, with particular interests in colic, the equine gastrointestinal microbiome and endotoxemia.

Dean Hendrickson

Professor

Contact Information

Office: 297-5000

Email: dean.hendrickson@colostate.edu

Biography

Clinical Interests: Equine Endoscopic Surgery including Laparoscopy, Arthroscopy and Flexible Endoscopy, Wound healing, Lameness. Research Interests: Laparoscopic Surgical Approaches, Wound Healing, Pain Relief, Teaching Methods.

Christopher Kawcak

Faculty

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-4139

Email: christopher.kawcak@colostate.edu

Biography

Dr. Kawcak is Professor of Orthopedics. Dr. Kawcak is one of a team of researchers working to find ways to prevent and treat catastrophic injuries in equine athletes. Kawcak is assessing three-dimensional imaging techniques, MRI and CT to diagnose early joint disease and microscopic joint injuries before these develop into serious injuries. Working with researchers in biomedical engineering the team has developed biomechanical models to assess risk factors specific to each individual athlete with implications for human bone and joint disease.

Tiffany Knight

State Classified

Contact Information

Email: tiffany.knight@rams.colostate.edu

Drew Koch

Post Doctoral

Contact Information

Email: drew.koch@colostate.edu

Gabriele Landolt

Faculty

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-4146

Email: gabriele.landolt@colostate.edu

Biography

Dr. Landolt is an Assistant Professor of Equine Medicine. Dr. Landolt's research focuses on infectious respiratory pathogens and pulmonary damage resulting from infectious disease. Specifically her laboratory has ongoing projects in development of a tissue culture system that models pulmonary vasculature, and is evaluating host adaptation to new strains of influenza and cross-species transmission events. Her laboratory also provides surveillance for influenza in wild animals that might serve as reservoirs or vectors for influenza exposure to humans and other species.

Britt Mactavish

Administrative Professional

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-5311

Email: britt.mactavish@colostate.edu

Alex Moss

Post Doctoral

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-3779

Email: alexandra.moss@colostate.edu

Brad Nelson

Assistant Professor - Equine Surgery

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-4413

Office: 970-297-4413

Email: brad.nelson@colostate.edu

Yvette Nout-Lomas

Assistant Professor--Equine Medicine

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-4173

Email: yvette.nout-lomas@colostate.edu

Biography

Dr. Yvette Nout-Lomas is an Assistant Professor of Equine Internal Medicine and is boarded by both the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine and the American College of Veterinary Emergency and Critical Medicine. Her clinical interests include horses with neurologic disorders and critically ill foals and adult horses. Dr. Nout-Lomas is part of the team at CSU providing specialty care to horses. Her research goal is to improve diagnostic capabilities and treatment options for horses with neurologic disease. In particular her research is focused on gait assessment in horses, spinal cord injury, and comparative neuroscience.

Lynn Pezzanite

Post Doctoral

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-4296

Email: lynn.pezzanite@colostate.edu

Biography

Lynn Pezzanite, DVM, MS, DACVS-LA, is a board-certified equine veterinary surgeon pursuing a PhD under the supervision of Dr. Steven Dow and Dr. Laurie Goodrich. Dr. Pezzanite graduated from Cornell veterinary school in 2014, during which time she worked for the Comparative Orthopedics Laboratory under the supervision of equine surgeon Dr. Lisa Fortier. Following graduation, she completed an equine rotating internship at Littleton Equine Medical Center in Denver, CO and a three-year equine surgery residency at Colorado State University. Her research programs seeks to address the increasing incidence of multi-drug resistant infections in both human and veterinary surgery through evaluation of alternatives to antibiotics using a combination of immune activation and regenerative cellular therapies.

Debra Popichak

State Classified

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-4532

Email: debra.popichak@colostate.edu

Kristina Rothers

State Classified

Contact Information

Email: kristina.l.perry@colostate.edu

Jackie Schneider

State Classified

Contact Information

Office: 970-221-4535

Email: jackie.schneider@colostate.edu

Lauren Smanik

Post Doctoral

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-3784

Email: lauren.smanik@colostate.edu

KT Steward

Post Doctoral

Contact Information

Email: kt.steward@colostate.edu

Kit Struthers

State Classified

Contact Information

Email: kit.struthers@colostate.edu

Rebecca Urich

State Classified

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-5000

Email: rebecca.urich@colostate.edu

Kelly White

State Classified

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-5000

Email: kelly.white@colostate.edu