VTH Emergency/Critical/Urgent Care

The People Serving You

Shannon Auten

Urgent Care Technician

Contact Information

Email: shannon.auten@colostate.edu

Alyssa Biffle

Urgent Care Technician

Contact Information

Email: alyssa.biffle@colostate.edu

Luke Butkovsky

Critical Care Technician

Contact Information

Email: luke.butkovsky@rams.colostate.edu

Biography

Luke has been a technician in the Critical Care Unit for three years. When he is not working, he likes to hike and train dogs in personal protection. His ultimate goal is to become a K9 handler and trainer.

Chrystal Carson

Critical Care Technician

Contact Information

Email: chrystal.carson@colostate.edu

Biography

Chrystal is from Colorado and graduated from Bel-Rea in 2010. She has worked in General Practice, Specialty Emergency, and Dentistry, and began working at CSU in the Critical Care Unit in 2018. She has an amazing daughter, wonderful husband, and one perfect Golden Retriever mix. Chrystal loves hiking and camping and eating chocolate!

Amanda Cavanagh

Urgent Care Faculty

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-4178

Email: amanda.cavanagh@colostate.edu

Biography

Amanda Cavanagh, DVM, DACVECC, is an Assistant Professor of Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care at Colorado State University College of Veterinary Medicine and is the section head of the Urgent Care Service. She received her DVM from Auburn University in 2011 and acquired ACVECC board certification after completing a residency at North Carolina State University in 2015. Dr. Cavanagh has a special interest in traumatology, toxicology, and fluid resuscitation.

Kasey Dahlgren

Urgent Care Technician

Contact Information

Email: kasey.dahlgren@colostate.edu

Tim Daniels Jr

Critical Care Technician

Contact Information

Email: timothy.daniels@colostate.edu

Biography

Tim has worked in the Critical Care Unit for nine years. He started rock climbing in 2006 and has been lucky enough to travel the United States and Switzerland to climb on some of the finest stone in the world. Tim has a strong interest in languages, snow, storytelling, space and the endless march of time that not even the stars themselves can escape.

Katie Doyon

Critical Care Technician Supervisor

Contact Information

Email: katie.doyon@colostate.edu

Katrina Dushaj

Urgent Care Technician

Contact Information

Email: katrina.dushaj@colostate.edu

Carly Gregory

Critical Care Resident

Contact Information

Email: carly.gregory@colostate.edu

Julien Guillaumin

Critical Care Faculty

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-0393

Email: julien.guillaumin@colostate.edu

Biography

Dr. Guillaumin is an associate professor in emergency and critical care at Colorado State University. After graduating from the Ecole Nationale Veterinaire de Nantes, France, he pursued a small animal rotating internship at the Ecole Nationale Veterinaire d’Alfort, France. After his internship, he worked in both private practice emergency settings and academia, serving as a clinical instructor in Emergency and Critical Care at the Ecole Nationale Veterinaire de Lyon (now VetAgroSup). He continued his advanced training in Emergency and Critical Care in the U.S., working at Cornell University and completed his ACVECC residency from the University of California, Davis in 2009. Before moving to sunny Colorado, Dr. Guillaumin was a teacher, clinician and researcher at the Ohio State University for 10 years. His main clinical interests are hemostasis, blood banking and blood products, especially platelet products, immune mediated hemolytic anemia, thrombosis, including acute feline acute aortic thromboembolism, as well as SIRS, sepsis and MODS. He was chair of the ACVECC residency training committee, and currently serves as vice chair of the ACVECC Joint Committee and also as a member of the ECVECC Education Committee. Dr Guillaumin has trained over 2000 students and 100 house officers. He has over 200 invited lectures or scientific publications.

Tim Hackett

Interim Associate Dean, Veterinary Health System

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-4112

Email: tim.hackett@colostate.edu

Biography

Clinical Interests: Respiratory disease in companion animals, Trauma, Toxicology. Research Interests: Shock, Critical care nutrition.

Kelly Hall

Critical Care Faculty

Contact Information

Email: khall.wilke@colostate.edu

Biography

Dr. Kelly Hall is one of the faculty members who joined the critical care services team in September 2019. In addition to teaching, and working with highly functioning teams, she also has passion for improving trauma patient care through collaborative clinical and translational research and chairs the ACVECC Veterinary Committee on Trauma (VetCOT). She was a faculty member at the University of Minnesota for 14 years where she also earned her DVM, emergency and critical care training for board certification and master's in clinical research. More recently, Dr. Hall took a non-linear path, and taught high school science and coached basketball and lacrosse in an effort to inspire the next generation of scientists and leaders. Primary drivers of Dr. Hall’s philosophy, whether on the clinic floor, coaching on the basketball court or lacrosse field, in the classroom or through research collaborations, include Angela Duckworth’s research on grit, Carol Dweck’s research on growth mindset and John Wooden’s "pyramid of success."

Sharon Hart

Urgent Care Technician

Contact Information

Email: sharon.hart@colostate.edu

Michael Hronsky

Urgent Care Technician

Contact Information

Email: michaelb.hronsky@colostate.edu

Valerie Johnson

Urgent Care Faculty

Contact Information

Email: valerie.johnson@colostate.edu

Jamie Kachel

Urgent Care Technician

Contact Information

Email: jamie.kachel@colostate.edu

Kaz Kallin

Critical Care Technician

Contact Information

Email: kaz.kallin@colostate.edu

Amber Kiilehua

Critical Care Technician

Contact Information

Email: amber.kiilehua@colostate.edu

Alli Lape

Critical Care Technician

Contact Information

Email: allison.lape@colostate.edu

Erin McNamee

Critical Care Technician

Contact Information

Email: erin.mcnamee@colostate.edu

Stephen Millar

Critical Care Resident

Contact Information

Email: stephen.millar@colostate.edu

Biography

Dr. Stephen Millar is a third-year emergency and critical care resident at CSU. After graduating with a DVM from Mississippi State University in 2017, Dr. Millar pursued a small animal rotating internship at the Foster Hospital for Small Animals at Tufts University. To pursue specialization, Dr. Millar then moved to Fort Collins, CO, for residency at CSU's Veterinary Teaching Hospital. Dr. Millar's professional interests include fluid management, mechanical ventilation, sepsis, and point-of-care ultrasound. Outside of the hospital, Dr. Millar enjoys hiking, climbing 14ers, and supporting scouting groups.

Karissa Ochs

Critical Care Technician

Contact Information

Office: 297-1240

Email: karissa.ochs@colostate.edu

Jocelyn Pronko

Critical Care Manager

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-4305

Email: jocelyn.pronko@colostate.edu

Gina Ricciardi

Critical Care Technician

Contact Information

Email: gina.ricciardi@colostate.edu

Biography

Gina is a native to Colorado and grew up in Estes Park. She found her way to veterinary medicine after becoming fed up with a string of dead-end jobs. She graduated from the veterinary technology program at FRCC in 2019, obtained her CVT (certified veterinary technician), and began working in CSU's critical care unit. Gina's true passion lies in emergency medicine, where she thrives. Gina also holds a bachelor's degree in photography with a minor in creative writing from CU Denver. In her free time, she enjoys reading, camping, wandering through the woods with her dogs, and most of all, sleeping.

Rebecca Riesen

Critical Care Technician Supervisor

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-1240

Office: 970-297-1241

Email: rebecca.riesen@colostate.edu

Megan Stadler

Veterinary Diagnostic Imaging Intern

Contact Information

Email: megan.stadler@colostate.edu

Christy Tomcik Walker

Urgent Care Technician Supervisor

Contact Information

Office: 297-297-5000

Email: christy.tomcik@colostate.edu

Alexa Veale

Urgent Care DVM

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-5000

Email: alexa.veale@colostate.edu

Melissa Volpone

Urgent Care Technician

Contact Information

Email: melissa.volpone@colostate.edu

Tracy Webb

Urgent Care Faculty

Contact Information

Office: 970-297-4237

Fax: 970-297-1275

Email: tracy.webb@colostate.edu

Biography

After completing her DVM at the Ohio State University, Tracy completed a small animal medicine and surgery internship at the Angell Animal Medical Center in Boston. After a year in private practice, Tracy completed a residency program in small animal emergency and critical care at Angell Animal Medical Center. Following the residency, Tracy earned a PhD in immunology (pathology) at Colorado State University. Tracy’s current research involves investigation and clinical application of mesenchymal stem cells and minimally-invasive methods of improving cardiovascular disease.

Tyler West

Critical Care Technician

Contact Information

Email: tyler.annmaudell.west@colostate.edu

Erin Wilson

Urgent Care Technician

Contact Information

Email: erin.k.wilson@colostate.edu

Kristin Zersen

Critical Care Faculty

Contact Information

Email: kristin.zersen@colostate.edu

Biography

Dr. Kristin Zersen (DVM, DACVECC) is an Assistant Professor of Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care at the Colorado State University Veterinary Teaching Hospital. She obtained her DVM from UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine. Dr. Zersen completed a rotating internship at VCA West Los Angeles Animal Hospital followed by an emergency and critical care residency at Colorado State University. She is a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care. Dr. Zersen’s professional interests include fluid therapy, sepsis, and mechanical ventilation.